Huawei Watch GT 2 GPS accuracy

Márk Farkas
5 min readNov 24, 2020

--

The surprising result of testing the GPS!

TL;DR: buy this smartwatch 😉

This is an independent article, I do not get money from anyone, all statements written in this article are my own experiences.

Since I have not found any great article about Huawei Watch GT2 smart watch GPS comparison, I decided to write an about it. I hope it will be helpful for you. 😊

Smart watches for running

At time I am writing this article, 2020/11/24, there are already a lot of smart watches out there and it is not an easy task to pick the best for you. You have to review all of them, and sometimes you do not even find the information you are seeking.

I was in the exact same situation. I wanted to have a relatively cheap smartwatch with accurate GPS to track my running exercises. I asked my running friends about their choices, and to sum it up, these were the tips from them:

  • Garmin smart watches are made for sport especially for running
  • Huawei smart watches are good if you consider the price
  • Even a very cheap, “noname” smartwatch might be capable of GPS tracking

I did a lot of research on the internet, read a plenty of reviews, spent at least 10 hours with watching youtube videos and reading articles, and my final choice was: Huawei Watch GT 2 46 mm🔥

Huawei watch GT 2

I was very curious how this smartwatch will perform, but I was not disappointed. It is a beautiful smartwatch with every necessary functionality. Some people might say it is a little bit old fashioned, but it really depends on your own taste.

The pros👍:

  • Easy to use
  • Big, beautiful screen
  • 4GB of storage (which is actually about 2.4GB free space after watch faces and OS are installed)
  • Very good microphone and speaker (I have tested it, you can make phone calls from the car, and your sound will be clear)
  • Extremely long battery life
  • Lots of sport activities
  • Smart workout guidance
  • Accurate GPS (more about this later 🙂)

The cons👎:

  • It cannot handle Spotify
  • Only 10 contacts on the watch
  • You have to copy every music file on Bluetooth which takes a lot of time
  • You cannot download any app for this smartwatch, you can only use the pre-installed ones

There are two versions of this watch: the 42mm and 46mm. They are exactly the same the only difference is the size.

GPS accuracy 🛰️

This is the most important topic isn’t it? After all, we are here to track our running. 🙂

The best test is testing in real environments in real conditions, so I went out running with my Huawei Watch GT 2 on my left hand with my Samsung Galaxy A80 phone on my right hand.

It is important to know that I had to pause the workout 2 times because of the traffic, but it was actually intentionally part of the test. 🙂 However you can notice that it took more time to pause my workout on my phone.

I know from experience and previous measurements that the my phone’s GPS is so accurate it only makes about 10 meters of mistake on the 5.5 km I usually run.

Enough talking, let’s see the results!

Here is what my phone recorded with Adidas Runastic app:

5.5 km run tracked by Samsung Galaxy A80
Running tracked with phone in Adidas Runastic app

And here is what my Huawei Watch GT 2 recorded:

Running tracked with smartwatch

The difference is only 10 meters! And it is probably also because of rounding! 🙌 🎉 🍾

It was a jaw dropping moment for me. I did not expected this accuracy. Let’s see the two map side by side (to upper is tracked by my phone, the lower one with smartwatch):

Two maps side by side

I would say this is exactly the same route ❗ 🙂

Here is a screenshot about the same workout in the Huawei Health app after syncing it with the smartwatch:

Running tracked with smartwatch in Health app

Here are a few more photo about how much information the Huawei Watch GT 2 collects about you:

You can clearly see the two drops in the pace and even in the heart rate. That was the two time when I paused the running workout.

Final verdict

Huawei Watch GT 2’s GPS is as accurate as GPS can be. This smartwatch is definitely capable to precisely track your running. 🥇

I hope this article helps you to decide which smartwatch you want to buy.

Any suggestion or helpful comment is welcomed.

Have a nice day 😊

--

--